chip overload

25 Oct

I want chips.

And I know they’re bad for me, but I can’t get enough of them.  The long weekend saw me indulge in chips of all shapes and sizes from a variety of locations.

None can compare, however, to the heavenly taste that comes from Piha hot chips.  It may be memories of my childhood that enhance the taste of these thickly cut potatoes, but I’m near certain that Blair’s on the beach would go out of business if it wasn’t for this delightful deep-fried treat.

Years back, Blairs used to be simply called “Bons” by us locals and there was an older lady who worked the deep fryer , who would scream out orders of “two chip, two chip”.  She’s long gone but the current servers are a cheeky bunch of guys that flit between the hoards of people ordering chips, milkshakes and toasted sammies.  Our server named my companions and I creaming soda yesterday afternoon.

Another great thing about this place is that I didn’t spot any tomato sauce on the counter.  Vinegar is the only match for a chip of this calibre and Blair keeps the place stocked with squirt bottles full of the stuff.  These ain’t no small fries though, so you’ll need a hefty amount of vinegar to soak into the chunky chips.

Hence the reason why these delicious morsels are for treat days only.

Last time I checked Piha had a black sand?

Leave a comment